Fry me kangaroo brown, Sport.

Lidl are out of reindeer steaks again. I can’t seem to catch them when they’re in stock. It’s the Daily Mail’s fault for publicising them. They had diced reindeer but I was in the mood for steak, not a Rudolph casserole.

There was venison, but I’ve had that before. So there I was, definitely in a ‘something new in steak format’ mood, passing over quail and partridge and lobster and… wait! Kangaroo steak? Oho.

A chunk of meat from an animal whose home range is as far away from me as it’s possible to get without leaving the planet. How could I resist? I didn’t. I also didn’t resist the big jar of anchovies for three quid. Nor did I resist Glen Orchy although I admit to havering a bit over the Ben Bracken. I’ll get the posh one for Smoky-Drinky on Friday.

Kangaroo meat is dark, a bit like beef in texture but with a stronger flavour somewhat reminiscent of liver, I thought. There’s almost no fat in it but I fixed that problem by frying it in butter. It’s reasonably cheap too, at £3.99 for 300g, and most of that price will be the cost of shipping it halfway around the planet with a stopover in Germany for packaging..

Normally when I go into Lidl I head for the gadgetry and the booze. The rest is ‘food’ and I can get that anywhere. Or so I thought. Tonight I had fried kangaroo for tea. A definite first.

I’m going to have to pay a lot more attention to the foods available in Lidl in the future. Next I think I’ll try quail. Doesn’t look like there’s much meat on them though. Or maybe partridge or maybe… I’m going to need to clear some freezer space before I go back.

I recommend kangasteaks. If you prefer your meat non-bleeding, cook for a lot longer than the recommended time. And remember to sing as it sizzles.

Either ‘Fry me kangaroo brown, sport’ or ‘Skippy, Skippy – Skippy the cooked kangaroo.’

It’ll amuse the cheeeldren.

10 thoughts on “Fry me kangaroo brown, Sport.

  1. Next I think I’ll try quail. Doesn’t look like there’s much meat on them though.

    My next door neighbor when I lived near Memphis was a long-haul truck driver who made a point to bring home enough quail (farm raised, not free range) for quail and dressing. Think turkey and dressing with a really, really small turkey. With dressing in the pan, not stuffed into the bird.

    Basically, you are after the breast meat and legs (true so very often, isn’t it?). Nothing else to eat on the tiny little birds.

    When they are walking a fencerow and kick up a covey of the little darlings, nervous hikers have been known to wee themselves a bit. Not out of fear, of course. Nobody could be afraid of them. They just make this noise when they take flight in a bunch, that’s all.

    Like

  2. I found, with pigeons, that when you took off the feathers there wasn’t a lot underneath. And they are bigger than quail.

    I’ll have to check the pack vs. price – one alone isn’t worth buying. I have a feeling these are bite-sized hens…

    Like

  3. Poor old Skip, this is almost like going to the butcher’s and seeing rabbits on the slab with dungarees and tiny straw hats with holes for the ears.
    NB: Lidl sell a tonic wine called “Nobleman”, avoid at all costs unless you want to smash something, eg. a modem. This is the only drink which has, for me anyway, resulted in an episode of apelike fury instead of my usual mellow bonhomie.

    Like

    • If I ran a butcher’s shop, pork would be labelled ‘Babe – you’ve seen the film, now eat the star’. Venison would be labelled ‘Bambi’s mum’ and lamb would be labelled ‘Sheep babies’. And all the rabbits would be displayed beneath a Watership Down poster.

      There’d be no feeble customers in my shop.

      I haven’t seen that tonic wine. I won’t bother looking for it!

      Like

    • I am eating wild boar butties as I write…. well, I put it down to type, but you get the idea.

      Our local butcher gets it fresh three or four times per week.

      I go for the brains and eyes mostly. But tongue and bollox are also good.

      Like

    • I have heard ostrich is good. There is a local butcher who I visit occasionally, he’s the best bet for that one. His stuff costs a little more but it’s fresh and not coated in plastic.

      Like

      • G’day Leggy,

        As one of your loyal Australian readers and, as Dick would say, a fellow jewel-robber, I can speak with some authority on the subject of eating Skippy.

        Very nice, lean meat. High in iron and protein, but – as you say – low in fat. If you cook it over medium, it will be tough. So, if you prefer your meat medium-to-well done, try something else.

        For those who might feel a bit squeemish about eating something cute and cuddly, well they’re not as cuddly as a rabbit. There are, in fact, hundreds of millions of them across Australia and we cull them regularly. If we didn’t, during good years – those without drought, of which there are still quite a few, despite our resident climate catastrophists declaring during lean years that the rains will never come again – the kanga’s breed up and eat everything our poor old sheep and cattle would otherwise eat. Then, we’d end up with dead sheep, dead cows and, when the next inevitable drought came, dead roos, too!

        So, don’t feel in the least guilty about frying them, roasting them, bunging them into a stew – the Aboriginies have been doing it for 40,000 years and they haven’t made a dent in the population.

        While you’re at it, if you get the chance, eat some Emu as well. Do that, and you’ll have eaten the entire Australian national emblem. [Don’t pay top dollar for emu, though. It tastes like chicken, as does crocodile. Witchetty grubs? Well, as Crocodile Dundee said, “Well, you can live on it, but it taste like shit.”]

        Anyway, keep fighting the good fight. We all enjoy reading you.

        Like

        • I cooked it to where it had just stopped bleeding. Needed a steak knife, but not too chewy.

          I still have to find ostrich – which should be available here somewhere – but I’ll watch out for emu too. Lidl have no qualms about the sensibilities of the feeble 😉

          Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

