Big Sugar takes a stand.

The cheque I awaited has arrived and will be cleared on Wednesday. My finances will be safe for the month and I can make sensible use of the credit card, knowing I will have the money to pay back. I paid that cheque into the bank on Thursday. It takes a week to clear.

In the long-ago days before highly efficient computerisation, banks could clear a cheque in three days. Now it takes a week and some banks take longer. That’s ‘progress’.

It’s all beside the point except to explain why I have Jura Origin 10-year-old in my glass tonight. And tomorrow. Can’t kill the bottle, I have to go to work and quite possibly deal with the sort of things that you really don’t want to have a hangover when you deal with them.

The new War on Sugar has come up against a non-compliant adversary. They are not rolling over and saying ‘Screw me’ like all the others before them. Perhaps, at last, the message is getting through and the template is being recognised.

Let’s hope it feeds back through the other versions of the template. Let’s hope that the line has at last been drawn. It’s a faint hope but it’s the best so far.

Anyway. Must get back to the little book of total annoyance…

11 thoughts on “Big Sugar takes a stand.

  1. Pingback: Big Sugar Takes a Stand & Raises Cane. | Va...

  2. “In the long-ago days before highly efficient computerisation, banks could clear a cheque in three days. Now it takes a week and some banks take longer. That’s ‘progress’.”

    They now have the use of your (banked, but inaccessible) money for 7+ days, rather than 3. To the bank, this is progress.

    Like

  3. AB Sugar’s defence is not nearly aggressive enough. In the early 1980s, an old lawyer chum called Graham Smith (still I believe a partner in Bird and Bird if it still exists) and I prepared a paper for Peter Marsh, of the ad-agency Allen, Brady and Marsh (where I worked) for the Tobacco Industry. This was to defend tobacco advertising at an early time when governments everywhere were muttering about banning it all.

    This was a little time only, after the foundation of the Libertarian Alliance, of which we were (and I still am) officers.

    Our stance was that a strategic state assault on advertising amounted to forced censorship by the state, of legal communications about legal products. We and Peter Marsh recommended that all British and International tobacco firms, wherever, opposed completely any government plans to regulate their marketing, as we said this was the thin end of the wedge. We also adumbrated the “template” idea by saying that in the end a cave-in would open the doors to regulation and eventual banning of alcohol, motoring and fuel ads, not to mention “disapproved of” foods. We didn’t use the word “template” as I recall, since our suggestion would have elicited hots of derision that such a far-fetched idea could be possible, and that we would then be seen as swivel-eyed loons.

    The industry sadly caved in, trying to say that tobacco ads were “not about increasing consumption” but about “inceintivising customers to switch brands.”

    The rest is history.

    Like

    • I started smoking Golden Virginia because I liked their adverts. I kept smoking it because I liked their product. I also started smoking Hamlet cigars because I liked their adverts but quickly stopped smoking them because they are shite.

      I also started smoking heroin and crack because I didn’t like the anti drugs adverts, however after an occasion where I vomited so violently my oesophagus came up into my mouth and I had to push it back down my throat I decided there were better ways of sticking it to the man.

      Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

