Adjusting…

When you’ve spent weeks starting work at 2:30 pm and suddenly have to be there at 10 am, it calls for a total reset of your body clock. You can expect no sympathy either. “10 am? I’ve been here since 6 am!”

Yes, but the storeman always starts at 6 am. He’s used to it. If he was told that next week, he had to be in at 2 am, then he’d know what I mean.

Two more days then back to normal wakey-sleepy times. If the missing cleaner isn’t replaced I’ll have another week of this later but at least I’ll be fully prepared for it.

Tonight I planned to rip apart another of the Mail’s farcical reports but really, it’s so damn silly I can’t be bothered right now. Might come back to it later. Plus, I am knackered but body-clock is saying ‘No, it’s not sleep time yet.” I’m going to have to overrule it on that point. If I can.

Instead I’ve raided my collection of amusing imagery. This requires little thought on my part, which is good because I am limited in my application of single-malt brain oil until the dreaded Early Mornings are over.

If only they still made this stuff –

whiskypasteWell, I have toothpaste, whisky and access to sterile syringes so…

Another reminder that it’s not just smokers who suffer the relentless march of the Righteous –

cupcakeNow that the War on Booze is well advanced and we are all required to exercise and be healthy, it is time to get inventive…

boozebikeI wonder if you could make a frame out of compressed tobacco? I also wonder how long it will be before smoking on a bicycle is banned?

Before the Internet, there were addicts –

radio addictsLet’s not forget the dangers of eating too much starchy food and gelatin –

fart

Proof that it’s not just me who loves to torment idiots. Honestly, it wasn’t me this time. It might well be next time though.

hungergames

And finally, one particular image I think we can all store for future use. Might even be worth having some cards made up –

headbangNow I have to lie down and stare into the darkness and pretend the shadows aren’t moving. They always are, don’t you find? Until you look straight at them.

Two more days then back to blissful nocturnalism… and proper levels of whisky.

 

9 thoughts on “Adjusting…

  1. LOL! Leg, JUST after I hit Post Comment my screen went to a blank screen with the following message:

    ===

    Server Maintenance

    Your server is going through a few minutes of routine maintenance. Please don’t touch your browser for a few minutes.

    What do I do?

    If you were posting a comment or making a post on your blog then do not press BACK on your browser. Wait 5 minutes and press the refresh icon on your browser. Your comment or post will be sent as normal.
    If you are browsing a blog here just wait a few moments and hit refresh. The page you were expecting will appear.

    ===

    At first I thought it was YOU playing some kind of joke with us. When the Q was the last time you ever got a msg on your computer telling you to WAIT FIVE MINUTES and then do something???

    :>
    MJM

    Like

  2. I’ve no sympathy, Leggy. Back in my hoary old student days, I worked for a time at a steelworks that used what it called the ‘continental’ shift. It was spread over 6 days composed of 2 days of 6am – 2pm (great shift, like going in for a piss) followed by 2 days 2-9 and then 2 nights of 9-6. After a month of this I didn’t know which planet I was on. For some obscure reason, the ‘regulars’ preferred it to a week of each.

    No sympathy at all.

    Like

  3. Due to having had a fmily whose sleep patterns were…odd. (Trawler men, Reindeer herders, shift workers, where “shift” means “Until the job is finished.” Many times I have had Breakfast at midnight, and my evening meal at 04:00) Then myself NEVER having had a job with “regular” hours, (At sea (see “Trawler men” above) Police, army, security, hotels, police (again), army (again), my sleep pattern owes more to Dracula than to Rip van Winkle.

    This REALLY pisses me off when I open my beer bottle at 06:00, and some cunt tells me “You are an alki if you drink so early!”

    OH FUCKING REALLY!? What were YOU doing at 03:00 this morning? I was (Insert job option; fishing, walking the streets saving your lazy arse, up to MY arse in fucking rain and mud making sure YOUR arse was not ripped away by the commy bastards on the other side of the iron curtain, etc), and on many occassions I have done that for 24 to 72 hours, and more in ONE GO!

    “What do YOU do in the evening, after being savaged by your fucking computer for 6 hours per day, CUNT?”

    Like

  4. “Before the internet there was radio addiction” – Yes I know alll about that. It was a very different experience, never knowing what you might recieve, or if the reception would fade away before the programme ended. The internet makes it all so easy, but takes much of the magic away. My interest in shortwave radio during the 80’s lead to me making two trips “downunder” – hardly the sort of thing that would happen now.

    Like

    • XX never knowing what you might recieve, or if the reception would fade away before the programme ended.XX

      Ahhh! THOSE were the days!

      Hiding under the blakets and listening to the “transistor” that you had just got for Yule!

      You would find a great station, that lasted for 10 minutes, and you could never find it again.

      WHY, with one of these “pocket” transistors, could I recieve everywhere from Budapest, to Warsaw, Berlin (listening from the Wirral), Dublin, and one memorable occasion, with the correct weather, even NEW YORK(!!!) When with “modern” radios, you would be/are lucky to get radio Manchester from the Northern outbacks of Liverpool??

      Like

      • Because the “transistor” radio you were using had medium & long wave, and quite possibly some shortwave bands. Shortwave gives world wide coverage in the right conditions. These days we are being pushed into DAB, which might work for a few miles before dropping out suddenly. There has been some work on digital transmission via shortwave, but most major broadcasters have either drastically cut back, or closed their international broadcasts. So much easier (and cheaper) to just set up an online feed….

        Like

  5. Pingback: Adjusting...Whiskey Toothpaste...Mini-CupCakes!...

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

