Darkness falls.

Today was the first day of real summer since I finished work last Sunday so I was out in the garden trimming my bush. I do think it’s just common courtesy to keep your bush well trimmed. Nobody likes an overgrown bush. I mean, for the sake of the neighbours, I have to keep my bush under control. They don’t like to see it poking out all over the place

I think the pile of branches ended up bigger than what was left of the bush (why, what did you think I was talking about?) but this swine never fails to grow back. I could give it a haircut to ground level and it would come back from there. It had overgrown the eating-apple tree and if it does it again, its days are numbered.

The cooking-apple tree lost a few during the rotten weather and so I made an apple and gooseberry crumble. Very nice it was too. For the crumble (this was just a little one)  – 4 oz plain flour, 2 oz sugar and 2 oz butter. The 2-1-1 ratio works in any measurement system. Rub it all together into a crumble, add some extra sugar over the fruit, cook 200C for about 30 mins until the top turns golden brown and then add copious amounts of custard.

This does not work with fake butter. You have to get the real thing.

There are blueberries almost ready, the eating apples are edible but still a bit tart, the plum tree has produced well although not the excessive quantities of last year and one carrot grew. Apparently slugs also like the tops of carrots. Swines.

Tobacco plants are doing well too. Unfortunately this is coming just as I prepare to visit the home planet (Wales) for a recharge. Those plants have to take their chances. I can always just buy leaf – but can’t order it now since there’ll be nobody here to look after it for a while. There is someone to keep the plants watered but they can’t do anything about the weather. I might lose a year of seed-acclimatisation this year. That does assume the weather forecast is accurate, of course. Might not be any problem at all.

Also, I see Cardiff is preparing for my arrival. Dammit. I have to get to Glasgow to fly to Cardiff and I carefully timed it to avoid the Commonwealth Games. I did not expect to have my plans screwed up by Barry O’Blimey’s dinner!

I don’t know how much internet access I’ll get while away. Could be two weeks of silence or a constant stream of drunken babble or anything in between. When I get back I hope to have news of the totalitarian shithole Wales is turning into and quite possibly, some new ideas for Panoptica.

The trip starts Monday. There is one more day to pack up everything I’ll need (not much) and deal with the final few things I have to have ready on my return. There will be a babble tomorrow night but it might be short.

I have that holiday feeling…

One thought on “Darkness falls.

  1. “I was out in the garden trimming my bush. I do think it’s just common courtesy to keep your bush well trimmed. Nobody likes an overgrown bush. I mean, for the sake of the neighbours, I have to keep my bush under control. They don’t like to see it poking out all over the place”

    Naughty naughty Leggie! Though good to see the uptick in whiskey sales in the UK. :>

    When you’re in Wales try to look up John Gray et al and search around for smokie-drinkies! Heck, maybe you ‘n John can host one at his place!

    🙂
    Michael

    Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

