Between the shifts.

Long shift at work today and long shift tomorrow, fortunately with the shop open later these are time-slipped so I don’t have to be up until the crack of noon. Even so just a quick Saturday one. Most of you are out boozing anyway, lucky swines. Work ends for me at 6 pm Christmas eve, I have two early starts Monday and Tuesday so I will have some catching up to do on Wednesday evening.

I’m trying to get a little Christmas tale for Christmas day instead of the usual rage-fest. Trying to keep it as short as possible so bleary eyes can manage to read it. Short ones are now harder to write than long ones!

Anyway, in lieu of a tipsy tirade, here are what some other people have put effort into.

Al Jahom writes of the ban on smoking in cars in his usual restrained manner.

Junican suggests the whole plain-packaging thing might have been a bait-and-switch.

James Higham sees ‘Panoptica’ on the edge of reality.

He has a point. So, instead of ending on doom and despair this time, here are some jollies from The Spine and from Microdave.

As for me, Christmas is nearly over and I can soon get back to some semblance of normality. Now I’d better sleep – tomorrow (tonight!) I finish at 10 pm and will be back in there the next morning at 10 am. That is going to hurt.

20 thoughts on “Between the shifts.

    • Return of the Whisky! I don’t start until 3pm tomorrow. Even though it will be a horrible shift it is the end of Christmas work. Aside from the occasional drunk asleep in the toliets, things get back to normal soon.

      Like

  1. May I quote from Mark Twain ” I’m sorry that the letter I sent to you was so long, I didn’t have time to write a short one.” He said many things which made good and perfect sense.

    I can’t remember a Christmas which has felt less like Christmas. No buzz around me. Just days with different meanings. This Year we decided to send New Year cards rather than Xmas cards. New Year was the traditional holiday in Scotland.

    I’m on holiday now until the 5th. Lots of time to do stuff which will result in less being done. I wonder what Mark Twain would have to say about that?

    Like

  2. Mr Higham’s post offers the sort of information I have been trying to get out for years; he even mentions Yuri Bezmenov! The agenda is out there for all to see – LOUD and clear – but only a few of us seem to be able to grasp it. Others think of it as a “conspiracy theory” (I believe this term was conjured up by the FBI to discredit those who didn’t believe the official story).

    The fact that so very few people have woken up is one of the reasons I am about to compose my final blog post, “My reasons for giving up blogging” or some such title. I also intend to no longer contact politicians (who never listen, but are pre-programmed – it took me a while to accept this!). I intend to no longer bother with online petitions. Has any ever achieved anything?

    As I wrote yesterday… people will wake up en masse when they are starving or freezing to death. This might be very soon or another ten or twenty years away, but trying to talk sense to a brainwashed nation is now too much for me. They believe in moral relativism, in ‘equality’, in ‘family planning’, in ‘saving the planet’ by being unnecessarily deprived of comforts and freedoms because they have been possessed with the propaganda churned out by the government and the media and the ‘education’ system.

    People have been conditioned to laugh at anything they themselves have not been indoctrinated into.

    One of the most important objectives for the social engineers is demoralisation. Perhaps this, more than anything, is the reason for the new wave of fake “Puritanism” – make people depressed by trying to deprive them of the few things that give them happiness and respite, by banning them, taxing them out of all proportion and making pariahs of those who smoke/drink/eat/worship/deny propaganda so as to create an atmosphere of hatred and yet more fronts in the divide and conquer war to Balkanise society for easy control.

    My reason for giving up blogging can be summed up in the following statement from Mr Bezmenov (as Mr Higham reiterates),

    [The aim is] to β€œchange the perception of reality of every American to such an extent that – despite the abundance of information – no one is able to come to sensible conclusions in the interest of defending themselves, their families, their community, and their country.”

    It might sound selfish, but I have to put my efforts into saving myself, which I have really neglected, or I will also be freezing in winter and starving all year round by the time everyone wakes up to the con trick.

    I don’t know who to be more annoyed with: the sheep for being unable to break their programming or myself for trying.

    Thanks for putting up with my ramblings over the years, but don’t expect to hear too much from me in future. My plans might not even include electricity. I won’t be demoralised because I will keep away from television (nearly ten years now, anyway) and the internet.

    Like

    • Only you could get through James Higham’s post and come away think it was loud and clear. I thought it read like a textbook written by a paranoid sociologist.

      Like

      • It’s dificult to read because it’s difficult to elucidate. It’s like trying to explain three things at once. More of a feeling than a logical argument, an attempt to pull together threads that aren’t clearly connected.

        I find the mind-expanding properties of a good malt whisky most helpful when trying to interpret madness.

        Unfortunately that does make it harder to type…

        Liked by 1 person

    • Yuri Bezmenov’s statements should have set alarm bells ringing in every head. I don’t know why those bells never went off.

      Perhaps they were overwhelmed by the ringing of the tills.

      Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

