Teach your children well

A guest post by The Broken Girl. A little history…

I went to a kind of boarding school for a year. I had finished the mandatory years of schooling and I still hadn’t a clue what I wanted to be when I grew up. Writer had followed me through school, but really I wanted to be an astrophysicist. I remember telling that to the guidance councillor and she held back a giggle and told me I’d never make it to high school with my grades. (I did and with good grades).

But back on track. I was shy and one of my teachers mentioned that maybe an extra year at a boarding school would just be the right thing to get me out of my shell and give me a year more to think of my future. My parents agreed and we picked a school. Nothing too Christian and nothing too sporty. After the summer I got dropped off at what should be the best year of my life.

After the first two months of being homesick, even though I went back every weekend, I settled in and started making friends and enjoyed my stay. But as many things with your childhood and youth, your grown up you is sometimes looking back thinking what the heck? This is one of those things.

My fist roommate was a sweet and shy girl. She was my first friend at the school. We made the Kitty Cat club. There was a list of rules too one of them being “always wear clean underwear in case of an accident”.

She was always up and dressed before I even woke up. I was never a morning person so I thought nothing of it until another girl told me that it was because of the cuts. My roommate was depressed and would cut into her arms. Looking back I sometimes wonder if the school was more a parking lot for damaged children than an actual school.

After the first school break around 10 kids got kicked out for drug use. At the end of the year 3 girls had tried to commit suicide. I remember sitting in a room with a flock of girls listening to music when a deeply shaken girl came in. She had just found her roommate in a bathroom splattered with blood. The girl made it through.

In many cases the teachers were just as wacky as the children. There was the headmaster who taught German and if you got him on a good sidetrack he would talk away the lesson. His sweet wife who taught a class on how to interpret your dreams. And finally the music teacher who had to stand in for the chemistry teacher when they were one teacher short halfway through the term.

Quoting my young self “he was an idiot!”. This came out in the lesson where he did an experiment with magnesium and sulfuric acid. He told us that according to the text book he needed a safety screen but he figured what the heck! He dropped in a good bit of magnesium and then some more just for effect.

Next thing we know the jar exploded. I was on the first row and my text book was covered in pieces of glass. We got the rest of the lesson off and for some reason he wasn’t asked back the year after.

It was an adventurous year. I made some great friends, came home with some awesome stories but sometimes I wonder how we managed to make it through in one piece.

The Broken Girl

19 thoughts on “Teach your children well

  1. I’m glad your “guidance councillor” was so wrong.

    Nothing too Christian… ‘Faith schools’ tend to deliver better results on the whole. The humanists want them banned so that everyone can be equal (equally underachieving).

    “League tables” show UK children as the unhappiest in Europe. I wonder what the self-harming data are re. faith schools vs secular schools.

    I sometimes wonder if the school was more a parking lot for damaged children than an actual school.

    Schools, generally, are indoctrination camps, as demonstrated by how little most children actually learn after 12 or 13 years. They tell us what to think, not how to think. It’s why they hold us hostage for so long now that there are so few chimneys to be swept. I was one of the clever ones and started (but didn’t finish) a degree course, yet I left school unable to speak a foreign language, play a musical instrument, grasp calculus or trigonometry, perform basic first aid, manage money or do bookkeeping, play any sport with any competence whatsoever, etc., etc.

    Schools are babysitting centres and we largely learn for ourselves after we’ve left.

    That’s what I think, anyway.

    Like

    • I’m happy she was wrong as well. But in a twisted way she also pushed me to go through with it. When I got my diploma I smugly thought “I did it, b*tch!”.
      I was also one of the clever ones, but I was bored. I quickly found out that with a minimum of work I could skate through with grades that were okay. I was the weird kid who’d use the summer holiday trying to teach myself Russian or read books about Venezuelan economy.
      I didn’t know that faith schools delivers better results. I just thought prayers and Jesus, no way! I grew up with my grandfather telling us about the old gods. All the legends and folklore. Another thing they don’t teach in the schools.

      Liked by 1 person

      • My careers teacher was quite impressed with my test scores. Those funny IQ-like tests they did when I was about 14. He asked what I wanted to be.

        I said I wanted to be a professional budgie breeder.

        I think that might be when I first realised I was destined to just be an awkward swine.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I didn’t have a careers teacher. A group of people (mostly grey) visited my school in my last year and questioned us individually about our career aspirations. It was quite weird actually, sitting in front of a panel. I said I’d like to be an actress or work for John Lewis. Strangely enough, they were quite encouraging on the actress option but I know I made the right choice.

        Like

      • I tried to learn various languages outside of school, including Welsh, as I holidayed there as a teenager.

        As for religion in schools; it’s still there. They have only removed the Christianity from most of them, but the atheism is still there. I guess that without that hope, purpose and sensible boundaries our young people are in a crisis situation.

        Like

    • “Faith schools’ tend to deliver better results on the whole”

      Yep, there’s nothing like belief in revealed truth despite contrary evidence to make a mind curious and open to reason and evidence. What’s a little child rape and indoctrination of out-group hate in the face of that?

      This probably explains all those religious Nobel physics prize types.

      Like

      • Not sure what you’re talking about, other than you are a typically intolerant atheist who feels the need to say something; anything, even though it is complete tosh.

        Most of the scientists who changed the world, like Newton, Boyle, Pascal, Pasteur and on and on were believers. If it hadn’t been for people like them, we would still be in the Dark Ages, where we are heading back to as atheism spreads like a cancer and fills the world with people with ugly attitudes and warped ‘morals’, who cannot debate but become irate because they know God exists but don’t want to be accountable.

        Science today is a joke as a result of atheistic dogma and biased funding producing “research”, the conclusions which were decided before the “science” even started!

        I’ve had loads of debates with atheists, but very few have the wherewithal to engage in anything intellectual, so they spout their name-calling and other junk they have been conditioned to utter in their misguided belief that they are “free- thinkers” when they take all their cues from the likes of Dawkins and other angry, intolerant individuals.

        Like

        • Stew,
          You left out notables such as Galileo and Copernicus.
          Plus, since the Nobel Prises were started in 1901:
          60% of the awardees stated they were Christian
          24% stated they were of Jewish Faith
          6% were Muslims
          10% listed other religions or no belief.

          Like

          • I missed out hundreds, Gary. I never imagined that the Nobel laureates could be overwhelmingly religious.

            I had to do some checking! Acc. to Wikipedia (if you take all denominations as ‘Christian’),

            “According to 100 Years of Nobel Prize (2005), a review of Nobel prizes awarded between 1901 and 2000, 65.4% of Nobel Prize Laureates, have identified Christianity in its various forms as their religious preference (423 prizes).[7] Overall, Christians have won a total of 78.3% of all the Nobel Prizes in Peace,[8] 72.5% in Chemistry, 65.3% in Physics,[8] 62% in Medicine,[8] 54% in Economics[8] and 49.5% of all Literature awards.”

            http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Christian_Nobel_laureates

            Like

    • I think it was a glass screen that was meant to be put up as a barrier between the experiment and the students in case anything went wrong. A safety thing.

      Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

