Writers Tears

No, not mine. You can get that distasteful (and slightly disgusting) image out of your heads right now.

I have a bottle of Writers Tears here. It was £28 but only cost me £3 because I had £25 in Marks and Spencer vouchers. How this came to be is a not particularly interesting story.

Anyway, Marks and Spencer really only sell one thing that interests me and I can’t usually afford to buy it in there. So, armed with 25 free drinking vouchers, I entered the hallowed and expensive hall of the Poshest Shop in Town.

They have Glenfarclas in there! Seriously expensive though. I thought I’d try something different since I wasn’t actually spending much.

The Writers Tears caught my eye as one I hadn’t seen before. It’s an Irish whisky and those tend to be mostly a bit too bourbon-like for my taste. What the hell, I was only gambling £3, so I bought it.

It’s very very good indeed. There is that Irish whiskey flavour, not at all like Scottish whisky, but without the bourbon harshness of the cheaper ones. At the price I’d say it’s a very good buy and if you can find it for less than the £28 M&S want for it, definitely give it a try. Although that’s a pretty good price for a damn fine whisky anyway.

One for the ‘try this one again’ list.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Writers Tears

  1. Hello Legiron, as a sort of biological fellow, can you advise the specification for a microscope I can use to check my tap water for bacterial infection ? And, in your neck of the Scottish woods, is Gaelic spoken ? I ask this as in the past few days a new tab has appeared on the BBC news site – Alba. Click and one is transported to a gaelic language page, also there is Cymru for the sheep bothering folks,

    Like

    • Malcolm, there is little Gaelic spoken on the Aberdeen side of the country: you would have to travel west to the Isles. The Aberdonians still retain a dialect called the Doric, vaguely related to Norse, and speak it to one another to confuse everyone else. The Gaels do the same with Gaelic.

      You pronounce Gaelic as “Gallic” and the the Gaels as “Gales”. No doubt that is perfectly clear.

      Like

    • A microscope isn’t much help there. You need to get it checked for E. coli – if it’s clear of that one then there’s no faecal contamination. A total count will show if there’s soil contamination. Any local micro lab can do it for far less than the cost of a microscope 😉

      Is your water from a private well? If it’s mains water there’s really not much chance of contamination.

      Like

  2. I greatly appreciate your occasional whisky-tasting-notes-for-the-frugal. I trust that the recently-appeared (bloody hell I’m hyphenating) lady-in-your life isn’t going to dampen-down this (or other) by-me-at-least highly-appreciated aspect of your blog. (By-the-way, I assume that your correspondents already played the tunes with “leg-over” and such-like?)

    Anyway, I’m stuck into a bottle of 10-year-old Aberlour. About third-of-the-way-down. Price 24 quid (Waitrose), which is a lot, I’ll give you, but anything else I wanted to drink began with 3 or even 4. What I can say is that this is completely inoffensive, which is saying quite a lot. I think an honest person must admit that even Grouse, which is bloody expensive nowadays, for what it is, has a note of Jeye’s fluid to it that is difficult to ignore. If one is giving oneself a sometimes-arguably-deserved treat, prices below 25 nicker can be argued for. OK it’s not (gasp!) Coal Ila, or even Arbeg. But it has a lubricated quality as it glides down the gullet, a little too sweet perhaps, and with a lingering reminiscence of elder-berries, whatever they are (something Pythonesque the drink is conjuring up perhaps.) I put my case: inoffensive, drinkable, effective, and now-and-then not-unaffordable.

    I previously tried some 12 quid vodka from Waitrose, but I think I might save my tasting-notes for a horror story.

    Like

    • There will be whisky samplings in the future. She won’t ever try to change me that much.

      The volume of sampling has declined but it’s not her doing, it’s mine. I have a reason to live a bit longer now 😉

      Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

