Fixing a life

I’ll pin this to the top if I can work out how to do it. New posts will appear below.

The blog is likely to be a little intermittent for a few months. I have a messy life and I have to deal with matters I should have dealt with a long time ago, instead of ignoring them and just getting drunk.

It also means I’ll be pretty lax answering comments but I know you lot are capable of chatting amongst yourselves anyway. You don’t need me supervising you.

I have to deal with these things myself. They’re not all my fault but I’ve let them drag on far too long. I’ll tell the story, starting sometime around August or September. It’s a long and not too happy story and it’s not over yet but I think it will finally have a happy ending.

I’m not closing the blog or abandoning it, in fact I’ll be expanding blogs. I have just woken Dume and will soon wake Crowe. I’m going to need those past incarnations soon. They were stages on the way here and I have to find the way back.

You think my stories are on the dark side? Wait until you read my life! I’d make it into a novel but…

…it’s just too damn weird.

40 thoughts on “Fixing a life

  1. As The Royal Bank of Scotland says, “we’re here for you”.

    The difference between them and us, old fella, is that we mean it and they don’t. If we can help you in some way, please just shout out and we’ll see what can be done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwwwwwwwwww Leggy. What am I gonna do – clicking on your blog just brightens my day. Well so long as you tell us allllllll about it when you come back, I forgive ya! hehe. See, I am now soooooo looking forward to finding out all about it. Oh God, I hate secrets. I dont want ya to go. Good Luck anyroad. Hurry back. I neeed my daily fix! Mwah x

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It seemed like all was in order chez toi et chez toilets. I’m in a similar position, re. having put things off, some for many years. E.g. last week I emailed an invoice to a customer who ordered four years ago. They have agreed to pay. I have older ones to catch up on.

    Things are getting better due to a freak incidence a few months ago which led to a string of unbelievable, yet ultimately beneficial events. I hope to be able to talk about it publicly even though some people will look down their noses at me.

    You’re like me then, L-I. Pretending things are fairly fine and dandy when they’re falling apart. I don’t know what your issues are, but the CAB have been really good for me. They have advisors for legal, benefits, debt, etc.You can get local council employees on your side. You can get free info by phoning solicitors and posing questions, although I have had polar opposite replies.

    I now have a small army of people I can pick up the phone to and say, “such and such has happened; can you sort it out?” Email me if you want advice about what the ‘System’ has to offer.

    I tried to stay out of the System, but I ended up with no other choice. Maybe I was too proud while thinking I didn’t have pride.

    Don’t kick yourself for putting yourself in a predicament. Don’t blow a fuse worrying – it solves nothing – actually, a CBT-type piece of literature I read recently said to have a daily 10 minute “worry time” (no more than 15 minutes) then don’t worry for the rest of the day (but you can still sort things out!). I haven’t taken that advice because it sounds too daunting. I’d rather realise when I’m worrying and just stop. It becomes much easier when you’ve been up to your neck in it.

    Anyway, this is about you, not me. I’m not trying to solicit sympathy, just point out that there are often many options and offer support – and not to worry.

    Matthew chapter 6, verse 24 onwards: http://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Matthew-Chapter-6/.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fuxake Leggy, what’m I gonna read on the crapper in the morning now? Starting my day knowing that there’s someone out there even more curmudgeonly than me has put a (painful) grimace on my mush. Still, I s’pose if you have to sort your shit out, then sort it out you must. Me? I’m hoping to kark it before any major balls-ups are exposed to the world at large.

    As others have said, “Should you need us….”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “to deal with matters I should have dealt with a long time ago” – Yeah well, procrastination in the face of any problems, even small ones, is a pretty normal reaction. Some people live all their lives and never sort themselves out.
    Good luck getting back on track, and I look forward to regularly receiving the fruits of your wit and wisdom(?) in my browser when you have time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Could you advise me a decent microscope for less than Ā£300 ? I am looking at a Bresser with a Max of 10 x 60. Its 40 years since I studied biology, I have an interest in some scum that keeps appearing around my sink and taps

    Liked by 1 person

    • For bacteria you’d need 10×100 with an oil immersion lens. Wouldn’t help anyway, you can’t identify them by looking at them.

      Slime around taps is usually mostly Pseudomonas. They grow into a wet mucus-like disgusting slime.

      A good antibacterial spray should keep it clear. Clean and dry off with paper kitchen roll – if you use a cloth, the bacteria will just live in the cloth and next time you use it you’ll put them back.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iā€”
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Robert Frost, for the benefit of those who don’t know it. For some reason, of all the poems I’ve read over the decades, this one stuck with me like no other.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Best wishes LI and I think I’ll say a prayer for you too, which will probably get on your nerves no end, but hopefully in a nice way :).

    I’ll echo Rightwingit’s words, too – if in doubt, kick arse!

    Woodsy42, I’m a born procrastinator so I try to play a mental trick on myself – I’ll carry on procrastinating, but just for now, I’ll put procastrinating off until tomorrow. Sometimes it even works!

    Best wishes and prayers to Brokengirl too. Please give her a hug from all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Really good luck with this LI these journeys can be contentious and hard, but are always worth the trip, generally we come out of it better more whole people.
    Everyone has shit to deal with in life, some more so than others. I hope you find the true path back and arrive relieved and fixed, taking care of business can take it out of you so stock up for the trek. šŸ˜€
    PS make sure you take a rope for climb to the summit šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

