Doctoring your mind

I haven’t looked at the Daily Mail much for a while. That’s done me no end of good. Still, too much good can be bad for a man of my age and so I ventured into the Pages of Madness for a browse. It wasn’t long before my new-found hippie calm was shattered into the sharp fragments of the rage of earlier times. I had to re-don the hat for this one.

Dr. Max the Mind Doctor isn’t a psychiatrist. He’s a GP whose remit now includes mind control.

He doesn’t call it that. It’s ‘advice’ or ‘health promotion’ or some such doublespeak nonsense that actually means ‘mind control’. Do as he tells you, believe what he says, live your life as directed. Be compliant, as the subliminal messages around you say…

compliant

…and which hardly anyone notices.

I have a very large chunk of that article to play with here. I could rip apart every word but why? Most of the readers of this blog already know it’s all bollocks and those who can’t see that will never see anything beyond the propaganda they soak up like desiccated sponges on a water binge night.

According to a study published yesterday, those who are wealthier, better educated and have children who’ve left home are more likely to drink at harmful levels than any other group. The researchers warned that affluent baby-boomers are ‘sleepwalking’ into ill-health.

So? If they have the money to buy the booze, the kids are all grown up and need no looking after and they are smart enough to know what they are doing, where is the problem?

According to a study published yesterday. As in, a study that has is full of the sort of made-up crap that gets grants re-issued. There is no science any more. There are no scientists left, certainly not in the health field. Only paid propagandists.

I know this only too well. For many years I worked in drugs and alcohol services and I’ve seen countless men and women who appear to have it all: a good job, financial security, a nice car.

If those are all the things they wanted then they do indeed have it all. Again, where is the problem? These people are capable of looking after themselves, they’ve proved it,  and they are paying a hell of a lot of tax for the privilege. Why not take a look at Benefits McChavvybastard and his mates drinking Red Stripe on a park bench all day, every day? Oh, right, that bank clerk isn’t quite so likely to headbutt you into hamburger for asking a dickhead question.

Scientists used to poke dangerous things to see what happened. Now it seems all they do is poke jelly and mushrooms and invent what might have happened. A sad and tragic end to a once noble career option.

Yet, each night, they essentially drug themselves up with booze. It is not uncommon to see middle-class professionals consuming well over 100 units a week — the equivalent of ten bottles of wine — when guidelines say men should drink no more than 21 and women 14.

This is pure prohibitionist talk. I am a lot more sober these days – I now have a reason not to drink myself to death as regular readers will know – but ten bottles of wine a week? Get stuffed. I was putting away seven or eight bottles of whisky a week for years and did not consider myself an alcoholic. And I proved that recently by going nine days with no more alcohol than two half pints of beer while a full whisky bottle sat on the kitchen table for a week. I didn’t even crack the seal.

I’d go a day or two at a time without any booze before that just to check I wasn’t dependent but if my bank manager had known of my whisky expenditure back then he’d have had a contract out on me.

CynaraeStMary spotted the link in Roobeedoo’s post. to an old post of my own. I didn’t spot it myself, it’s under the first GIF image. Not that long ago but I have no memory of writing it. At that time I was on a bottle of whisky a night, sometimes tipping over into a second if I had one available.

And I didn’t die. I didn’t even get sick. I am possibly the only one my age on no medication of any kind at all. Then again, I did write things and then forget…

They sit there convincing themselves that some mean-spirited jobsworth has dreamed up alcohol limits deliberately to spoil their fun. ‘What do they know?’ is their refrain.
Well, what anyone with a brain knows is that alcohol is a poison. And while some people manage to dodge its effects, many, many don’t.

The alcohol limits were entirely made up. That has been openly admitted by the ones who made them up. It’s not even a secret. Yet Dr. Mind Control here insists that those who deny the limits are based on any kind of science at all must be delusional.

Truth is delusion in Dr. Mind Control’s world. Only fabrication offers real truth.

Alcohol is a poison now. There is no safe level. A hint of my whisky breath this time last year would have killed thousands. If only I had known. Still, one glass of a peaty one might be enough to make a drone need nappies next morning. Booze and smoke, together? We are talking Armageddon here!

I see some fun times ahead…

41 thoughts on “Doctoring your mind

  1. “According to a study published yesterday, those who are wealthier, better educated and have children who’ve left home are more likely to drink at harmful levels than any other group.”

    It’s possible I’m just imagining this, but haven’t they put out a boatload of studies over the last ten years or so bemoaning the “burden of alcohol” relating to the “intemperate drinking habits of the economically disadvantaged”?

    “anyone with a brain knows is that alcohol is a poison.”

    I get the feeling that the good doc is actually mentally ill. Sure, he could technically make some case for alcohol being “poisonous,” but a belief that “anyone with a brain knows is that alcohol is a poison” is simply delusional. Perhaps he’s suffering from ADDS (AntiDrinkers Dysfunction Syndrome) ?

    – MJM

    Liked by 2 people

    • At this point, I would caution the good doctor to go and look at the mortality statistics regarding alcohol consumption, whereupon he will hopefully notice a J-shaped curve. Teetotallers (and this has been adjusted for former alcoholics-turned-teetotallers) have a higher mortality rate than do moderate drinkers, and indeed it takes quite a lot of alcohol consumption to inflict enough damage to be worse off than a teetotaller.

      If alcohol is a poison, it is a bloody beneficial one. It kills Death (or slows him down a bit, at least).

      The rest of that medical screed merely epitomises most of the worst side of Usenet argument; there’s pretty much no old, discredited argument that he hasn’t used in there.

      I did not invent this poem, but it sums this twerp up:

      I am the very model of a usenet personality.
      I intersperse obscenity with tedious banality.
      Addresses I have plenty of, both genuine and ghosted too,
      On all the countless newsgroups that my drivel is cross-posted to.
      Your bandwidth I will fritter with my whining and my snivelling,
      And you’re the one who pays the bill, downloading all my drivelling.
      My enemies are numerous, and no-one would be blaming you
      For cracking my head open after I’ve been rudely flaming you.

      I hate to lose an argument (by now I should be used to it).
      I wouldn’t know a valid point if I was introduced to it.
      My learning is extensive but consists of mindless trivia,
      Designed to fan my ego, which is larger than Bolivia.
      The comments that I vomit forth, disguised as jest and drollery,
      Are really just an exercise in unremitting trollery.
      I say I’m plain and simple, but that’s merely lies and vanity,
      The gibberings of one who’s at the limits of his sanity.

      If only I could get a life, as many people tell me to;
      If only Mom could find a circus freak-show she could sell me to;
      If I go off to Zanzibar to paint the local scenery;
      If I lose all my fingers in a mishap with machinery;
      If I survive to twenty, which is somewhat problematical;
      If what I post was more mature, or slightly more grammatical;
      If I could learn to spell a bit, and maybe even punctuate;
      Would I still be the loathsome and objectionable punk you hate?

      But while I have this tiresome urge to prance around and show my face,
      It simply isn’t safe for normal people here in cyberspace.
      To stick me in Old Sparky and turn on the electricity
      Would be a fitting punishment for all my plain simplicity.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. I’m not an abstainer, but it’s rare for me to drink. It doesn’t really get on with my metabolism?
    But I’ve always been struck by what an excellent drug alcohol obviously is.
    The downside is far outweighed by the good it does.
    Alcohol, I salute you!

    (Other drugs are available, choose the ones which suit you.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Zaphod, somewhere fairly recently I was reading an article about how different individuals’ metaboli (metabolisms is actually correct I believe, but metaboli… well… it just sounds like FUN!) process it differently in terms of turning it into acetaldehyde or somesuch. The article pointed largely to genetics as a determining factor but also mentioned that age can play a role.

      I know that while I used to go out drinking quite regularly in moderately large quantities without any ill-effects at all the next day, that is no longer the case. If I have more than four drinks in an evening, I’ll be pretty much wiped out for anything productive for most of the following day and will just feel sick-icky-poo-poo (so to speak.) Evidently my body now turns alcohol into the dreaded acetaldehyde. ::sigh:: (And no, it’s not a failing liver as such… my blood tests etc always seem to show a quite healthy liver!)

      Soooo….. nowadays I’ll rarely imbibe more that two or so times in a week, often go a week or two with no alcohol, and usually limit my drinks to a preference of three and only occasionally hit that four-level tipping point.

      🙂
      MJM

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the opposite – I never got on with alcohol (although I tried really, really hard to get it to like me when I was younger 😉 ). I pretty much well gave it up until very recently. Now I enjoy a couple of sambuca shots of an evening with my husband (who never drank) with no ill affects whatsoever.

        Like

          • Synchronicity in action: we’re actually discussing what we’ve going to eat as I read your comment, JP!

            Steve is a really happy drunk but for various reasons he eschewed alcohol for the longest time. Ironically, he’s the one to introduce the Black (we like the black version) Sambuca into our lives.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. This imbicile sounds the sort of twat that points to your tattoo and insists on warning you “You know you are stuck with that for life!?”

    “Well no fucking SHIT Batman!!?? The amount of money I paid, I fucking hope they ARE for life, now pioss off back to your nurse and get your meds increased.”

    Is my usual reply.

    But they are all of the same school, whether it be drink, drugs, sugar, salt, or bloody Rock and roll.

    Shoot the fucking lot!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How ‘safe drinking’ experts let a bottle or two go to their heads
    October 20 2007

    “The recommended maximum intake was set 20 years ago by doctors who simply plucked a limit out of the air”

    “A collective shudder of dismay rattled wine glasses on middle-class dining tables this week when a report labelled some of Britain’s most affluent towns as sozzled dens of “hazardous drinking” iniquity.

    Middle-class, middle-aged drinkers, according to a report commissioned by the Department of Health, had been consuming so much wine for so long that many were putting their health “at significant risk”.

    “Yet these guidelines have no basis in science. Rather, in the words of a member of the committee that drew them up, they were simply “plucked out of the air”.

    The safe limits were introduced in 1987 after the Royal College of Physicians produced its first health report on alcohol misuse.

    In A Great and Growing Evil: The Medical Consequences of Alcohol Abuse, the college warned that a host of medical problems – including liver disease, strokes, heart disease, brain disease and infertility – were associated with excessive drinking. The report was the most significant study into alcohol-related disorders to date.

    But Richard Smith, the former editor of the British Medical Journal and a member of the college’s working party on alcohol, told The Times yesterday that the figures were not based on any clear evidence. He remembers “rather vividly” what happened when the discussion came round to whether the group should recommend safe limits for men and women.

    “David Barker was the epidemiologist on the committee and his line was that ‘We don’t really have any decent data whatsoever. It’s impossible to say what’s safe and what isn’t’.
    http: //www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/life/food/article1778775.ece

    WHO launches worldwide war on booze
    14 October 2009

    “HUMANITY’s relationship with alcohol has never been easy. Now it is about to undergo as great a change as our attitude to tobacco, which has seen smoking plummet from the height of cool to the lowest of unpleasant habits.

    That at least is the hope of the World Health Organization, which, between now and January, will be honing its draft of the first global strategy on reducing health damage from alcohol abuse, the fifth leading cause of premature death and disability worldwide.”
    http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg20427303.500-who-launches-worldwide-war-on-booze.html

    Public ‘must be protected from passive drinking’
    16 Mar 2009

    “PEOPLE should be protected from “passive drinking” in the same way they are protected from second-hand smoke, Britain’s top doctor said today.

    Sir Liam Donaldson, the Chief Medical Officer for England, called for society to recognise the consequences of one person’s drinking on another’s well-being – a phenomenon he labelled passive drinking.”

    He added: “I got a hard time when I proposed smoke-free places I don’t feel I have been slapped down.” Sir Liam also said that fewer bars and clubs should be allowed in areas where alcohol-related deaths are high.
    “We need a proper plan to combat this. It will upset people and it will ruffle feathers,” he said.”
    http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard/article-23662758-public-must-be-protected-from-passive-drinking.do

    Then it all went a bit quiet when Labour lost the election.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was at the docs last week for a check up mainly because my blood pressure may have become a hazard for anyone standing relatively closish to me. My problem is with stress so they treat the symptoms rather than the cause.

    Anyway, the nursey asked me the usual questions including how much alcohol do you drink. None I said. (It makes me sick very quickly). You’ve never drank alcohol? Well I did when I was 18 for a very short time and I was playing in a rock band. She liked that answer. Tick. Sorted. I’m an alkie now.

    They are nice generally but you have to fit into their box. I agreed I’d not take statins with the Doc some time ago. We weren’t sharing the statins by the way. He suggested that if you take blood pressure reduction pills you should also be taking statins. Why? Who knows and who cares.

    Lipids are the new thing, mainly because the license for statins will have ended and the drug companies have profits to amass.

    Oh well…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. On topic by way of frozen margaritas (and el cheapo dual cassette microphones):

    Poppy and Legs,

    Your karaoke musica project beckons.

    Third time’s the charm.

    Get in there before they airbrush my cigarette out.

    Liked by 1 person

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

