A trucker interlude

You’ll get the sensible one again tonight but for now you just have to put up with me.

I have been looking at my collection of 1/24 scale trucking gear and it’s seriously skewed. All my model making pals have plenty of tractor units and few trailers. It seems I like trailers.

Oh I do have models of tractor units too. In fact the first one I made is this one and it still exists –

scania1

 

However I do have a habit of buying tractor unit kits and then doing things like this to them…

Daf6

so they are not much use at pulling trailers any more. I have now decided that some of the trailers will go up for sale. They’ll go on eBay but if there are any modellers out there who want an easy-add trailer, here’s first option.

CynaraeStMary likes this one because it has boobs. If you meet us and you have boobs, understand that I’m holding your gaze so she can look at your boobs. Then she’ll hold your gaze 😉

QW1

It’s called ‘Queen of the Wolves’ and is a curtainside on a dropside base but in one piece. The top is not removable. 1/24 scale. That’s the rear view. Here’s the front…

QW2

Underneath, the support legs are variable. You can pin them up to sit on a tractor unit or pin them down for freestanding. That wasn’t part of the original plan but it works.

QW3

Also going up is the 1/25 American style chrome tanker. A difficult model to make and to look after but I will do it again one day

Some pics….

chrome1

chrome2+chrome3

Shiny, huh?

It’s a selling/househunting day for me today. Things are pretty chaotic here and the sense of urgency is increasing. I have a hidey hole for some of the models I won’t sell yet and I have to take them there – such as this one that isn’t really finished yet –

flatbed1

Enough showing off. It’s music night later, so I’ll leave the blog in the capable hands of my much more cheery co-blogger and get back to the madness of life.

It’s all going to work out just fine in the end, even if it does feel like hell at the moment.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “A trucker interlude

  1. The picture of the Scania reminded me of the excellent TV documentary “Destination Doha” from the 70’s. Well worth a look on YouTube if you haven’t seen it. A time when drivers had to read maps, and use ingenuity to complete arduous journeys. Now they just punch a post code into the satnav and drive into a lake when it tells them!

    The model in your picture is “quite” new – the one in DD being a 140, which at the time was the king of European trucking. The same basic 14.4 litre engine is still in use now, but festooned with technology that would be impossible to repair in the middle of a desert…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never driven a Scania, although I always quite liked to look of them. Volvos (not bad) and some of the crappy old underpowered Brit trucks, but not Scanias. 😦 In fact, I haven’t driven artics for nearly forty years, now.

      When I was driving interstate in Australia, I mostly drove Kenworths with Detroit Diesel V8 (8V71T & 8V92T [I think I remember those numbers right]) engines and Fuller Eaton roadranger gearbox. The roadranger ‘boxes were great, once you got used to them. Non-synchromesh, you had to get the revs exactly right every time you changed gear (mine were 10 speed with deep reduction or 13 speed overdrive). This meant that apart from stopping and starting, the clutch became superfluous, which made for very fast and easy gearchanges.

      Although the engines were complex insofar as they were two-stroke diesel with both supercharger and turbocharger (about 14 litre, if I remember), we would often have to do roadside repairs in the middle of nowhere. If parts were needed, we’d have to wait for another truck to drop them off as it passed. No computers or electronics on them in those days! (1970s)

      You have the mix right, LI. Most companies will have far more trailers than tractor units. It makes for more flexibility. And as for the conversion from tractor unit to rigid, it can always pull a drag-trailer same size as the body you fitted. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

