Chrissie Hynde and Madrugada

So apparently Chrissie Hynde, the lead singer of The Pretenders, has been out giving her opinion about rape and blame. You can read the article here
She makes several points and I personally don’t agree with most of them. She claims that scantily clad women were likely to “entice a rapist” and that it is their “fault” if they are attacked. Lets look at that. Now I am a firm believer that women should be able to wear what they want, and I think in most cases then rape is more about power and thus what a woman wears isn’t really what gets you raped. People should wear what they want in their own time. And really men get raped too. Surely that’s not because their dress was a bit too short or their heels were a bit too high. And just to go all the way, if a nudist gets raped is it then her fault? I mean she was all naked and walking around with other naked people. All that nakedness. How will we deal?

She also comments that You know, if you don’t want to entice a rapist, don’t wear high heels so you can’t run from him.. Now I have heard of women who can actually run in heels. God knows how they do it but it should be possible.
But if it’s your fault that you got raped because you wore heels and couldn’t run away does that mean that every woman wearing trousers is also to blame? I mean surely it must be easier to run away if you’re wearing a dress and your rapist has his trousers down his ankles. But then again a dress does mean easy access so it could be a sign saying “Oi you there, come rape me!”. And if that is true does that mean women are not even safe in a burqa? Perhaps women should just break out the full plated body armour. Look on the bright side it’ll be a cheap work out too.

I will say this; I have always dressed rather conservative. Trousers, t-shirt and sneakers. One Christmas my grandmother gave me a shirt and a pair of tights. I wore the shirt the day after to the Christmas family get together with trousers and my grandmother asked why I was wearing my dress with jeans. I never learned to walk in heels. I once, at a New Years party with friend,s wore sneakers with a fancy dress. Now my way of dressing and lack of heels didn’t save me. Would it really save others?

Madrugada

Now Madrugada is an alternative rock band from Norway that my mother introduced me to. They started out in 1993 but the band split up after guitar player Rober Burås’ death in 2007.

Majesty

The lead singer Sivert Høyem has since made 4 solo records. I saw him live last year with my mother and he is a rather talented guy.

Honey Bee

Lift Me – feat Ane Brun

Now this is my personal favourite. It’s a bit more bluesy I’d say than the other songs

13 thoughts on “Chrissie Hynde and Madrugada

  1. Chrissie Hind, details aside, made a very important contribution.
    She disagreed with the “party line”.

    On this planet, populated by Humans, it will never be possible for everyone to be safe everywhere. Even if we were all kept in individual battery cages there would still be verbal bullying.

    Larry Niven (not enough people have heard of him), said, “Freedom multiplied by Security is a constant.” (FS=K) If you increase one, the other must decrease.

    We all have our own preference for where the balance should be. We will never all agree. The debate is eternal, and we need to hear it.

    The price of freedom is danger. Danger sometimes bites. We need to make our own decisions, and accept the consequences. Sometimes bad luck will strike.

    To be safer, you can reduce your own freedom, or ask the State to reduce it for you.

    This was a bit of a ramble, I’m in a hurry. 🙂
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do agree that women to some extent has to be careful and self protective. I just don’t agree with the way she said it and some of the arguments she made.
      I once read an article where a serial rapist had been interviewed and for him it was more a question of accessibility than fashion. So they warned women against listening to music or being too focused on their phone when walking out at night because then you aren’t aware of your surroundings and is easier jumped.
      But I also read somewhere that a large number of rape victims get raped by their partner. How do you protect yourself against a man who may very well be a regular charming guy most of the time?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rape does not have one single trigger, and rapists have different motivations. Lust, power, anger, whatever.

        You’ve got something some people want. Some of them will take it if they can. That will never change.

        Guaranteed prevention? You could lock yourself up, or lock all of them up, or we could try to make the penalty (and chances of getting caught) sufficient to deter all of them.

        Minimizing the risk? It will involve restricting your own freedom, to the degree you choose.

        Rape by a partner or other trusted man? No precaution or law can prevent this. Either trust nobody, or accept the risk. If a woman then gives them another chance, (as many apparently do), that is her choice.

        Is this any of my business? Yes, because I’m not a rapist but I seem to be getting some blame.

        Sorry if this sounds blunt, but it’s the way it seems to me. The words “should” and “shouldn’t” have no impact on reality.

        Male behaviour is the result of countless generations of women choosing which men will sire their sons. Selective breeding. Girls seem to fancy bad boys. Look what you all have made. It’s not my bloody fault! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. In my view she was pointing out that women have a part to play in being safe. If they get pissed and hang about with known bad lads then you can’t be surprised at the outcome.

    Good lads won’t even take advantage of someone who is naked, pissed and asking to be shagged if they came across them in the wild.

    Personally, having a Glock in an open holster would be a good way of indicating No.

    But this is against what the media is trying to say. All men are rapists so she needs to be shot down.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All she is saying is that people ‘can’ bear ‘some’ responsibility’ for what happens to them, depending on the circumstances. If I go to the grimier side of town and start waving a wallet full of £20s around in a dive bar, I am asking for trouble. Similarly if a girl goes out, get parasitically drunk while dressed as a hooker in a similar type of venue, she’s asking for trouble to happen too. Thats not to say that the criminal doesn’t bear 100% of the moral liability for their crime, he does, just that the victim ‘may’ bear some practical responsibility. There IS a difference, which many seem unable to comprehend. After all people would happily agree that if you climb into the lion enclosure and they eat you, its your fault. You didn’t deserve to get eaten, its not a moral judgement on you as a person, but in practical terms you made it happen. If you act in a way that increases the likelihood that a human predator spots you as a likely victim, that is to some extent down to you. We cannot pretend that all people are saints, we have to be aware bad people do exist and are a danger to us, just as wild animals are, and certain behaviours make us stand out as potential victims.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do agree with that side of the argument. I may have gotten too worked up about what I didn’t agree with.
      Yes, if a big arse Hells Angels guy came over to me, showed me his gun and was all “Toots do you wanna ride daddy’s bike?” I’d be pretty scared and if I for some reason went along and something bad happened I would for the rest of my life think “FFS! Why the hell did I do that?”
      The point I was trying to make was that not all rapists out there are scary guys from the wrong side of town. We had a guy here, every day guy with a job, wife and children, a regular Joe you’d meet at the supermarket who in his spare time liked to rape young girls.
      And also that dressing like a hooker isn’t the only key element as to who gets raped.
      So yes, women should play it safe but not to the point of never going anywhere.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. It doesn’t in any way detract from the seriousness of rape to suggest there are reasonable precautions that women can take to reduce the risk. Nobody suggests that advising householders to lock up their properties legitimises burglary.

    Don’t get so drunk you don’t know what you’re doing, stick with your mates and always know how you’re going to get home. Seems sensible advice to me – and also applies to men.

    Liked by 1 person

    • But is disagreeing with the “party line” as a whole more important than some of the arguments that could send out a wrong message about rape?

      Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

