Traditions and cover songs

Have you guys ever wondered about how some holidays make perfect sense up until the point you have to explain it to someone who’s never heard of it before.
We have Morten’s evening coming up. It’s an old story about a priest who was chosen to become bishop but he didn’t want to so he tried to run away. As the local villagers were out looking for him he tried to hide with the geese but they made so much noise that he was found and he ended up having to become a bishop. So each year on this day we eat duck roast with all the trimmings. Somehow the duck became guilty by association.
And we have loads of those traditions or small holidays like that. I talked about Fastelavn last time with the live cat in the barrel that would get batted until it broke. These days it’s a paper cat.

I’ll be celebrating Christmas with Leggy this year in Scotland and I realised that how ever strange these traditions may seem I am actually a sucker for them. What really made me see that was when I told Leggys that I’d make him the traditional Danish duck dinner for Christmas. So of course wanting to be prepared I went on Google to see if I could get everything I needed in Scotland. Most things were readily available but two things. The cherry sauce for the rice and almond pudding and to my horror the red pickled cabbage was all wrong. It was actually red and not purple as it is here and it looked like big chunky cabbage and not “hey I just got a food processor let’s chop everything into tiny bits” cabbage. So yeah, when Leggy goes home from his birthday visit I’m sending pickled cabbage and cherry sauce with him because that is what tradition calls for.

Lilly Allen – Somewhere Only We Know

I must admit that I really like the John Lewis Christmas adverts. Especially last years one with the penguin . This Lilly Allen cover is from the 2013 advert and is a cover of this song by Keane

Ane Brun – Halo

I’ve mentioned Ane Brun in an older Wednesday music post. She did a song with Madrugada that I posted. Here she’s made a cover of Beyoncé’s song Halo
I’m personally not a big fan of Beyoncé’s music but I really like this cover.

Lisa Ekdahl – It’s Oh So Quiet

Now I think most of us know the Björk version of this song. Which if some of you didn’t know is actually a cover song in itself. The original English version was made in 1951 by Betty Hutton which was according to Wikipedia a cover of a German song called “Und jetzt ist es still”
I chose Lisa as it is a slightly lesser known version and a bit more jazzy and slow than the Björk and Betty Hutton versions.

Jasmine Thompson – Take Me To Church

I adore the Hozier version of this song but Jasmine Thompson does something to it that just makes me like it that much more. Hard to believe that she’s only 15.

Hugo – 99 Problems

I’m not entirely sure if this is a true cover song as it has had a bit of a rewrite from the Jay-Z Version and I may have used this version before in another post but I like this version so much that I’ll risk it.

 

14 thoughts on “Traditions and cover songs

  1. Cherry sauce for the rice and almond pudding…

    This sounds so scrummy, you’ve got to post a recipe. In fact the duck sounds good too, though I’ve never actually cooked it in my own kitchen, something I mean to remedy some day soon. But if you’re spending Christmas in Scotland, you’ve got to have haggis at some point, otherwise Leggy has let the side down.

    :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I tried haggis last time I visited. Once wrapped around chicken with bacon and once deep fried with curry sauce.
      The duck will be stuffed with my aunt’s stuffing recipe so I’ll have to ask for that before going. I’ll translate a recipe for the desert and post it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yummy, duck! I love duck! I was never very keen on turkey for Xmas – a bit too dry for me, so I always used to cook either goose or duck. Can’t get decent duck here, unfortunately, so I’ll be cooking chicken again this year, or maybe buying a frozen duck. Lidl sometimes have a half decent Barbary duck in the freezer, which isn’t bad.

    Agree with Oi you, the rice and almond pudding with cherry sauce sounds good. A recipe would be most welcome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too. They usually put up little Santa houses in town that sells crepes and duck sandwiches. I would go there every day during Christmas if I could afford to.
      I actually like Lidl. I was rather snobbish about Lidl until my friend took me shopping there. They sell some pretty decent things.

      I’ll translate a recipe for you boys 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I’m a big fan of Lidl. They do some great wines at very good prices, their food quality is good, and the tools and electrical goods that they sell sporadically are generally very good quality. And if there is ever a problem with anything you buy there, it’s dealt with very quickly and efficiently. Even here in Greece, where the words ‘quick’ and ‘efficient’ aren’t really part of the mainstream vocabulary.

        Like

  3. Duck for Christmas dinner seems nice. Certainly worth thinking about especially the cherry sauce.

    I first heard this cover of Word Up by Willis at a dance. I knew it was a cover but by who? I started to sing it in my head. At least I thought I was was singing it in my head. Unfortunately it was out loud, whoops! I asked who did the original but people seemed nonplussed as they thought it was an original. I finally figured it out and, to my surprise this time, no one had heard of them.

    Willis – Word up

    Original by Cameo.

    Liked by 1 person

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

