Loose ends

Damn, you won’t believe how much crap fits into one tiny flat. Now at last I’m seeing empty shelves and cupboards, but there’s a lot to do yet. And address changes! There are so many!

The most important ones are the ones you get fined for not doing, like the driving licence, car registration and insurance. I’m not sure if you get fined for not telling the insurance company or whether it just invalidates your car insurance. Neither option is good.

I’m working morning shift all week and moving house every afternoon. It’s a busy time, and I’m also working on the anthology. Naturally, this was the perfect time to sprain my thumb…

Before I move the book stuff (and remember to tell all those book sites my new address) I can at least get the author payments sorted out. I have almost all the contracts in now, and some have already told me how they want to be paid (books, cash or a combination). Almost ready to complete that part.

I’m also working up a few variations on the cover, which I’ll put up here for opinions before finalising it.

I’ll be looking for Christmas stories starting November 1st, and I’ll be in touch with the two novelists about contracts after the move is completed. I’ll have a lot more time then and I’ll be living somewhere so utterly silent you can hear a cockroach fart.

There is likely to be a period offline when the broadband switches over. I’ll be on a different phone exchange so they have to disconnect me from one and reconnect me at the other. I don’t know how long that takes. I’ll have a mobile phone but I can’t type on that thing for long. The on screen keyboard is tiny and I have blunt ended fingers from years of typing on a real keyboard.

I’ll also have to be available at the phoneless house next week for furniture deliveries. The second hand shop has found the house now so they won’t get lost next time.

Could be long silences here. Unless CstM gets the blogging urge 😉

This place better not be pink and covered with penguins when I get back…

6 thoughts on “Loose ends

  1. >I’ll be looking for Christmas stories starting November 1st

    Surely starting sometime near the middle of December, if they’re Christmas themed?

    Oh well.

    “‘Twas the night after Samhain, and all through the house,
    Not a blogger was stirring, not even your host.
    The stockings were hung…….. etc

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes indeed, I need to have it ready by mid December to allow for slow Christmas post 🙂 This one may or may not pay as well, I can’t keep up the big payouts for shorts – I’m double the usual price for now but it gets the project started.

      Liked by 1 person

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

