Intermission

I did say things might be quiet around here for a bit and this is indeed the case.

My parents are still here. Yesterday my father was taken ill. Turns out it’s just an infection but at his age we had to get him checked out by a doctor, just to be on the safe side. So on Sunday night (yeah, a bad time to get ill) we phoned the NHS line and got an appointment at a local small hospital.

Local, as in only about 20 miles away. Still, the good part about a small hospital in a small town is that on Sunday night, the emergency room is really quiet. We didn’t have to wait long. Dad now has antibiotics to add to his other medications and is getting better quickly.

He has, wisely, spent the day in bed. However, since the guest room is also my office where the desktop computer sits, I haven’t been able to access email for two days. Hopefully tomorrow he’ll be up and about again but if not he’ll have to put up with me deleting spam and looking for at least one email that actually matters.

If you have sent me email and you’re waiting for an answer, please be patient.

The book is assembling still, I took the precaution of copying all the files relating to the current book to my laptop so I’m not reliant on the office for that. Just for email.

It’s possible that this whole situation was exacerbated on Sunday when I came back to find him trying to move the patio slabs with a crowbar. They are the old kind, not the modern small and slim ones. He’s nearly 80 but won’t accept defeat.

That, I suspect, runs in the family…

10 thoughts on “Intermission

  1. This level of stubbornness is common. A year or two back, my father who had mild dementia at that time managed to get the big mower out from the shed where we keep it, and onto the lawn. This is an agricultural beast of a thing too heavy for one man to lift alone, and Dad got it out of the shed without using the damp we keep handy for such occasions.

    He then forgot all about it and was sitting quietly indoors when my mother and I returned, and claimed to know nothing at all about the entire incident. We never did find out how he managed to wrestle the machine out, especially as he died a year or so later.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the correction – I wondered what a damp could be!
        I just hope that I will be one of those old folks who won’t stop doing things they shouldn’t . I’m 70 now and working very hard at being a stubborn old sod!

        Like

  2. Heh, Daniel, I thought “damp” was just one of those obscure Brit words that us Americans are forced to puzzle over. Thanks for the correction! :>

    Leg, hope your dad is back in fightin’ shape by tomorrow! Keep him away from lawnmowers and motorcycles and he should be fine!

    What does he think of your puterin’ ‘n publishin’ activities? Is he computer literate (asks the Yank who’s still puzzling over how to answer his SmartPhone with his DumBrain…)

    🙂
    MJM

    Liked by 1 person

    • My father is in his mid eightieths and just bought a new motorcycle. He sold the old one with over 40,000 miles on the clock that he had racked up in three years… Yah can’t keep an old dog down.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes indeed; in the case of my father, even with mild dementia and crossed eyes, he still reckoned he was fit to move his car around a bit. Apart from the odd scrape of door mirror on wall, no real mishaps either, although I took to making sure my own vehicle was either out of his way, or parked at the top of the drive to stop him parking behind it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I have a dilemma with my in-laws. Father-in-law has been diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment and mother-in-law has her own memory issues but not diagnosed as she doesn’t suffer anxieties but vision isn’t great. They are both in their early 80s but insist on driving. Father-in-law says he will stop driving when mother-in-law says. Both sons will not intervene, so I am the bogey-woman.
          I would welcome a change in the law for a retest every 5 years past 70. Of course it will be difficult for those in rural areas if they cannot drive safely anymore but there is plenty of alternatives in urban areas.

          Like

          • My father’s mind is as sharp as ever. It’s his body that’s failing. He still drives, an automoatic because he has no feeling in his left leg, and still swears at ‘the idiots on the road’ like he always has 🙂

            Like

  3. And I thought I was the only one with ‘older parent’ issues! At least mine has given up driving, that’s one thing I don’t have to stress over anymore. Though he gives me plenty of other things to stress over instead, just in case I get bored. I’m wondering where it’s all going to end…

    :o)

    Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

