Koldskål!

I’ve been trying to radicalize Leggy to the ways of the Danes. This has included teaching him how to say bad words in Danish like “Røv”, “Knep” and more useful stuff like “Øl”. In the food department I started out slow with Danish meatballs (Frikadeller). We then moved up to Grønlangkål with ham and caramelized potatoes. Grønlangkål is kale that has been boiled for a few minutes, then chopped to death and in the end put in a cream heavy white sauce.

2017-04-05 17.29.15

Yesterday we had that one summer day you seem to get in Scotland so my inner Dane came jumping out demanding koldskål. This is a slightly weird Danish dish that is traditionally eaten in the summer. Those warm nights where you don’t feel like playing Gordon Ramsay in the kitchen you can buy a carton of Koldskål, a bag of kammerjunker (a type of small, hard biscuits) and pop it in a bowl and dinner is ready.
Now you may be wondering what the heck is this weird Danish contraption that seems to only show up when it’s warm and has a name that literally means cold bowl? It’s is a cold soup made from buttermilk and other good stuff.

I personally can’t remember a summer at home where we haven’t eaten this stuff at least once. In my quest to tell Leggy about the gloriousness of this this food I wikkied it and apparently in the summer of 2013 Arla sold 3,8 million liters of this stuff. Which is rather impressive when you think about the fact that there’s only about 5,7 million Danes. That’s how popular this is.

Now I somewhat naively figured that since I couldn’t buy the ready made variant here that I’d make it myself. I pulled out my trusty Frøken Jensens kogebog (Miss Jensen’s cookbook a treasure trove of Danish recipes) and thought that looks simple enough. That was until I casually mentioned to Leggy that I’d need to get Ymer at the next shopping trip. Clearly the Scots doesn’t have the same appreciation of the finer nuances of dairy because all I got was a blank look and a “Bless you”. My description of, it’s somewhere between yogurt and A-38 wasn’t much help either. Back to wikki!

Then came challenge number two. The recipe called for pasteurized egg yolks. I cornered an unsuspecting Tesco worker, which these days is getting harder and harder. I suspect I’ve worked up a reputation for being the one who asks for all the weird things they’ve never heard off, much less carry. First was the German nougat and cardamon powder for Christmas biscuits, then potato flour, a non modern can opener and now the pasteurized egg yolk. I could find pasteurized egg whites but no yolks.

In came the lovely RooBeeDoo with a link to a site on how to do it yourself. All you had to do was add lemon juice and water, microwave it and whisk it every once in a while. Sounded simple enough. Of course that went as wrong as it probably could go.

2017-06-21 14.45.37

A call later to the mothership and I was using yogurt instead of ymer and used eggs that I had poured boiling water over in the hopes that I wouldn’t kill Leggy from exploding arse.
So if you want to try it out here’s the recipe

Koldskål

4 pasteurized egg yolks
6 tablespoons of sugar
8 dl Buttermilk
3 dl yogurt
The seeds from one vanilla pod

Whisk the sugar and egg yolk together until fluffy and airy.
Mix in the buttermilk, yogurt and vanilla seeds.
If you want you can even add a bit of lemon zest.
Leave in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Here served with strawberries

2017-06-21 18.02.00

19 thoughts on “Koldskål!

  1. Now that I know that green crap is kale and not spinach…it’s prolly pretty good.
    (gotta sometime use a tad of sugar to take some of the bitterness out of spinach)

    Yeah…that whole dish looks good tho. (green crap included)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh spinach gets chopped to death too. I once made my brother refuse to eat it when we were kids. I called it grass and for years after he flat out refused to try it as he sure as heck didn’t want to eat grass.
      If you want I can put up a recipe for the kale and the ham?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sure. If you wanna. Prolly be quite some time before I’d be able to actually attempt to cook it…but it would certainly give me something to look forward to. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah kale. There was a recipe on Twitter yesterday, along the lines of:

    “Add a little vegetable oil to kale – it doesn’t make it taste any better; just ensures it slips down the waste-disposal unit easier.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Back in the days before the internet and the German.deli dot com I had similar issues finding typical everyday German ingredients…before the Brits discovered the true meaning of Xmas or ‘Stollen’ & ‘Lebkuchen’ as the Bestest Frau In The World’s people know it.

    Would it not have been better to substitute Quark for Ymer which can be found in every supermarket these ‘funny foreign food’ days next to the Creme Fraiche? I can recall trying to find Quark here in the early 90s as it happens. Nowadays try finding one that isn’t 0% fat ie tasteless. And are you really telling me Leggy doesn’t have a petry or two of Lactococcus lactis kicking around somewhere?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I should try the German deli. There’s a ScandiKitchen online shop but they can be very expensive compared to the prices of the motherland and getting it shipped up here is an investment into Royal Mail in itself.

      I must admit I hadn’t thought of Quark, that could work. We had a hard time finding a yogurt with out flavour that wasn’t fat free or light.
      My dad did give me a 15 minute lecture on how to make my own ymer. Apparently you take one tablespoon of yogurt and put it in a deep plate and pour cream on top. Then you leave it in a warm place for a few hours and you should have ymer.
      Truthfully, I may only have been semi listening so I’ll have to go back to be sure about the measurements. But it’s definitely a project for another blog post. CstM vs Ymer! Who will win?

      Liked by 1 person

      • “I must admit I hadn’t thought of Quark, that could work. We had a hard time finding a yogurt with out flavour that wasn’t fat free or light”
        Next time try ‘Greek Yogurt’ , every supermarket seems to have it (we use it as a sauce with garlic on gyros). It’s thick, creamy, but neutral in flavour.

        Liked by 1 person

        • We use that with honey and nutty muesli, but I think it would maybe be a tad too solid. Definitely worth a shot though. The texture is more that of a creamy soup or those bottled yogurt drinks.

          Liked by 1 person

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

