Friday babble.

I don’t want to be enraged. No point anyway since I have a six hour shift tomorrow.so cannot overindulge. I only have one litre of Whyte and Mackay and that is good, because if I had two drinks the NHS would not operate on me. They already hate me for smoking,  now they say I will be at increased risk of dying in hospital if I’ve been drinking.

Pffft. The rate the NHS kills people, I’ll be safer staying home and drinking than going into hospital for any kind of operation. I’ll live longer too and die with a smile on my face.

The radio at work has been playing Sparks songs the last few days. I remember the band, its core was two brothers. Ron and Russell Mael, one was flamboyant, the other was tighter than a Scotsman’s wallet but it was the tight one who wrote the songs and played keyboard. I might still have some vinyl records of them.

Via The Spine, I hear they are planning to tour again. I hope they come close enough to me for a visit, I never did see them live. The Spine has some detail on their normal daily routines here, here and here.

Here they are in more recent times.

A fun band, a loud band often, and always enjoyable.

As is the weekly dose of Microdave.

As for me, well, we have a new cleaner starting soon so I’ll be back to normal hours again with sleep and everything and all should be back to normal in a week or so. I also have that tax rebate so I can get some decent malts in for a change.

Only one bottle a night though. The NHS has decreed that two drinks a night is too much.

I’ll get a bigger glass.

 

4 thoughts on “Friday babble.

  1. I remember hearing (a few years ago) that Sparks were planning to play all of their albums, one for each day, and on consecutive days. Quite a challenge!

    I think it was to happen in a large pub in North London – out of my reach.

    Like

    • They did indeed play all 21 albums in 21 nights in London in 2008. I wasn’t lucky enough to see any but I saw them in Manchester last October when they did their ‘Two Hands, One Voice’ (i.e. no band) tour and they were sublime. They’re touring again the end of this year, I believe.

      Like

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.