Anthology 17 and author payments

Author quarterly payment time – only three authors have sales and once more, I wasn’t one of them. The ones with sales have been contacted so if you haven’t heard – sorry, you’re as skint as me.

I have a feeling that the rising prices have destroyed many peoples’ ‘play money’. I can see that. It’s affecting me too, I can’t buy models nor esoteric weaponry at the rate I used to maintain. Although I probably have enough weaponry to supply a small mediaeval castle anyway…

Anthology 17 has officially closed to submissions, but it’s still subject to further delays. Editing has begun and authors are being contacted but if it’s not done in a week it’s going to take several. My mother has cancer, just a little one, it’ll soon be sliced out but I’ll have to go to Wales to check she’s following the after-surgery advice. Because she won’t. She’s also 80 which means any major surgery is a risk.

My younger brother lives near her but he has a full time job and I’m retired so I do need to be there. Maybe I should take my battle axe in case he gets hold of his morningstar, both of which have the scuffs and chips of teenage scuffles… nah. He won’t want to lose again. Anyway, my late father’s broadsword is still there in case he gets stroppy.

There are easily enough stories in to make Anthology 17 viable but this new delay means I could accept a few late entries as long as they don’t need much editing. They aren’t needed but they have a few more days, perhaps a week if I don’t get to finish in time. Something new is always welcome.

Just be aware that if you send in a late one and don’t hear back right away, I might not be ignoring you. I might just not be here.

16 thoughts on “Anthology 17 and author payments

  1. I do so hope that your Mum will be okay and that it isn’t really serious. But then it often isn’t these days.
    I decided a long time ago that I wasn’t having it, which must have been frightfully cocky of me. But then mind over matter often helps.
    Please tell her from me that we are all thinking of her. And as a complete contradiction, I will light a candle for her tonight. A bit of outside help shouldn’t necessarily be discarded.

    Maureen Eleanor Mitchell

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Quarterly Results – Longrider

  3. Best wishes for your mum. My mum had a bowel cancer op at age 89. They couldn’t wait to get her home as she was taking over the ward. Telling everyone what to do and following the cleaners around.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well done your Mum. I personally have no idea of what could be wrong with me at the age of 83. And I don’t want to know. I will die when it suits me. Which won’t be soon.
      Tis so often mind over matter.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Elena, mum went on for another eight years. Dementia go her in the end. God bless you and I hope you have many years ahead of you to pass on your valuable wisdom.

        Liked by 1 person

First comments are moderated to keep the spambots out. Once your first comment is approved, you're in.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.